Oakland and Kennywood Fright Nights

This morning, I woke up around 9am. The dogs didn’t get me up any earlier, which I was happy about. I got them outside, fed them breakfast, then got a shower. When I got out of the shower, Cassie was awake. I asked her what we should do today? I had to stop at my house, either before we go to Oakland, or after Oakland. She said, that it would probably be easier to go before we go to Oakland. I agreed.
After she got ready, we packed up my car, then drove to Moon township. I was so happy to be back there tonight. She helped me bring the stuff in to the house, and put the beer and left over pizza in the fridge. I changed my top and my shoes and then we were out the door again to go to Oakland.
When we got to Oakland, I took her to the 36th floor of the cathedral. She loved the view and took some pictures, then we took the elevator down to the 7th floor and met Drew at his cube. He was going to meet us in Hogwarts, which is the common area of the cathedral.
Once he met up with us, we walked to Primanti’s. Cassie said, that she really liked this campus and thought it was so big, bigger than University of Kentucky. When we walked in to Primanti’s, we went upstairs to the second floor and sat at an empty table. They were pretty busy. The same waiter that waited on Drew and I the last time, waited on us again. The food was awesome and Cassie liked the sandwich, even with the coleslaw on it.
After we left Primanti’s, we said bye to Drew. I needed some coffee. I stopped at Dunkin and got a large coffee for the road. I showed her Heinz Chapel, and told her about the history of the building. I seemed to have forgotten some of it. I used to have to memorize this narrative about the building when I was a docent over the summer, but I forgot some key parts about the chapel.
When we left the chapel, I took her to my building and showed her the home plate from when the building was Forbes field. She took a picture of it. Then, we left Oakland, and drove to Downtown. I took her the same route as the bus, when it takes us into town to go home.
Then I drove her to Station Square, and through southside, so she could see all the bars and where people go to drink on the weekends. Southside holds so many good and bad memories for me. I drove her to the waterfront and I stopped at Target to get motrin and some water. I was starting to have a headache. I needed to be ready to go for tonight. We were meeting Anthony, Dylan, and Drew at Fright Nights tonight.
Around 4:30pm, we left Homestead to go to Kennywood. We hung out in the parking lot, until Anthony and Dylan showed up. Then we all stood in line. She was so excited! As soon as they let us in, we walked into the tunnel that leads us to the park and sure enough there were two actors waiting there to scare us. I jumped a little and they all laughed.
While we were waiting for Drew, we rode a couple rides. One was a smaller coaster and the other was a spinning ride. We walked through two haunted houses. We still had so much more to do. Drew met with us, while we were in line for the vampire haunted house. The one vampire at the end creeped me out. He said, “blondie is mine!” When we exited the house, Cassie and I were the last ones.  Anthony, Dylan, and Drew were waiting for us outside the haunted house.
After I kissed Drew, Anthony and I registered for the skycoaster and we bought our tickets. Our time was 7:30pm. They said they could get us suited up now. I was so excited! When we got suited up, Anthony said, “I have been dying to do this with you.” I said, “Well if we can’t date, then we should fly!” He laughed. They got us locked in the apparatus, and then we were laying on our stomachs lifted up off the ground. They gave Anthony instructions what to do, and how to pull the cord. I was so nervous. I knew he would pull the right cord.
When they started lifting us up, we heard the chain lock in place. I was so excited and so ready to fly! Drew, Dylan, and Cassie were standing on the bridge taking a video and watching us, go higher and higher. Anthony and I waved to them and we locked arms until the first swing then we could release them and spread out. I was so excited. I hadn’t done this since I was a preteen.
Once we were at the top, the chain locked and the loud speaker said, “Alright flyers, three, two, one, FLY!” He pulled the cord and down we went. We swung back and forth, and it was so cool to see the entire park, the smoke, the lights, the creepier music. It was the coolest thing in the world. While, I was up there swinging, I felt like I just dropped and let go of all my worries. It was so cool!
After awhile, we had to grab the loop and come down. I was bummed. I could have stayed up there for a little while longer. Once we were unstrapped and on our way to meet up with Dylan, Drew, and Cassie. They gave us hugs and Drew kissed me. He said, “You did it bub!” I said, ” I loved it!” We did the alien haunted house next, then got in line for a Dark Shadows Haunted house, which was alright, then we did an escape the room, and we were so close to solving the puzzle. no one solved it yet. I had never done an escape the room before, after the escape the room, we went into the haunt and it was a voodoo theme. Then we rode the Phantom, Anthony and I rode together. Dylan rode by himself. Cassie and Drew sat this one out. Drew couldn’t fit and Cassie was scared.
After the phantom, we rode one last ride and I shouldn’t have got on this ride. It was called the Black Widow. Drew and Cassie sat this one out. The ride was a spinning ride, and lifted you in the air and spun you around and around. When I got off the ride, Dylan had to help me out of the seat. I felt so queasy. I never used to get that way, but I guess I am getting older. No more spinning rides I said. I was ready to go home after that.
When we got in the car, I drove home to Moon and I was slowly sipping water. Drew got home right before us. I was so icky. Cassie had a great time, and I am glad that she did and that I got sick towards the end. I wanted her to have fun.

Leave a Reply

